Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Trauma Informed Education: Annotated Bibliography

Getting Started

 

You will be creating an Annotated Bibliography based on your own research interests. This guide will help you understand what an annotated bibliography is, help you explore different types of sources, provide you with places to search, and help you with your citations! 

Research & Instruction Librarian

Profile Photo
Kala Dunn
She/Her
Contact:
Edens Library
214-A
803.786.3338

What is an Annotated Bibliography

Bibliography: a list of sources (books, journals, Web sites, periodicals, etc.) you have used for researching a topic. A bibliography usually just includes the bibliographic information (i.e., the author, title, publisher, etc.)

Annotation: a summary and/or evaluation.  

Annotated bibliography: a summary and/or evaluation of each of the sources.

 

All you need to know about Annotated Bibliographies

by Dr. Christine Oskar-Poisson

(The video uses class specific examples but incorporates what you need to know to do any annotated bibliography)

 

 

Steps to writing your annotation

1. Summarize: What is the source saying? What was the author's purpose? What were the outcomes/findings? 

  • This should be in your own words to help ensure you fully understand the content of your source. (No restating the Abstract)

2. Assess:  How does it compare with other sources in your bibliography? Is the information reliable? Is this source biased or objective? 

  • This is where you should EVALUATE your sources. Check for credibility and recheck for reliability.

3. Reflect: How does it fit into your research? Does it answer your questions? Does it add substance to your research? How can you use this source?

  • We want to use our sources intentionally and with purpose!

(From OWL Purdue)