Monday-Thursday 8:00am-8:00pm | Friday 8:00am-5:00pm | Saturday Virtual Only | Sunday 3:00pm-8:00pm
Please remember to wear your mask in the library.
Edens Library places materials on reserve each semester by request of faculty members for a faculty-designated length of time. Both personal and library materials are placed on reserve in accordance with Copyright Laws.
Faculty members are asked to place materials on reserve before the semester begins to ensure the material is available for student use.
Photocopied materials should include:
Reserve materials are located on shelves behind the Circulation Desk. Students MUST PRESENT their ID card at the Circulation Desk to check out the material for the length of time designated.
Reserve Loan Periods:
|3 Hour (Library Use Only)||This material is checked out for a 3-hour period anytime during library hours.|
|Due in 12 Hours||This material is checked out for a 12-hour period only. The overdue fine rate on this material is .25 cents an hour.|
|Due in 24 Hours||The overdue fine rate on this material is $1.00 per day.|
|Due in 72 Hours||The overdue fine rate on this material is $1.00 per day.|
NOTICE: WARNING CONCERNING COPYRIGHT RESTRICTIONS: The Copyright Law of the US (Title 17, United States Code) governs the making of photocopies or other reproduction of copyrighted materials. Under certain conditions specified in the law, libraries and archives are authorized to furnish a photocopy or other reproduction. One of these specified conditions is that the photocopy or reproduction is not to be "used for any purpose other than private study, scholarship, or research." If a user makes a request for, or later uses a photocopy or reproduction for purposes in excess of "fair use," that user is liable for copyright infringement.
Questions? Please contact:
Just like you, we want your students to be the best that they can be! Scheduling an Information Literacy session for your class can make the difference between a lackluster paper/project and one that is A+ quality!
How could a library Information Literacy session benefit my students? Is it worth giving up an entire class period?
Absolutely! All too often we assume that any student who enters college must be technology-savvy and can therefore handle herself in the college's library. But oftentimes, that is simply not the case. Many students are indeed 'gadget-savvy,' but this does not necessarily mean they are 'information savvy'; they may be able to acquire a great deal of information, but can often make poor choices in the quality of information they gather. That is where we, the library staff, come in! One 50-minute Information Literacy session at the library can reap enormous short-and long-term benefits for your students.
How do I schedule an Information Literacy session?
Contact Brittany Hickey (3570) or stop by the Edens 214C.
If you've never scheduled a session before, here are just a few things to keep in mind:
TRY TO AVOID
Get the FAQs on article Permalink embedding!
I have an article in mind that I'd like to make accessible in my course shell for my students to read. How can I do that?
It's entirely possible Edens Library might have full-text access to the article via one of our subscription databases. If we do, a Permalink can easily be created. This link, like any other web url, can then be inserted anywhere in your course shell. The steps at the bottom of this page show you how.
I found this article on a professional organization's website to which I have a paid membership. But my students don't, so they won't be able to access and read it. How can I find out if this same article is accessible in one of our databases so that they can read it?
Easy! You can email a librarian the citation information and we will be happy to check for you. If the article is available full-text, we will be happy to send you the Permalink.
Can't I just download the PDF (or scan the article and make a PDF), and then upload it to my course shell?
Technologically, that is possible. However, we do not recommend this practice as it is not in compliance with copyright law.
Will this Permalink take the student directly to the article? How does it work?
Whether on- or off-campus, the Permalink will take the student to the library's proxy server login page. They will simply log in (using their CC email address & password) and click Submit. They will then be taken directly to the full-text of the article.
I've already found the article in one of our databases. I just need to know how to get the Permalink. How do I do that?
Edens Library has access to a variety of subscription databases. The process might vary slightly depending on which database you are using. See below for database-specific instructions:
EBSCO DATABASES (Academic Search Complete, CMMC, ERIC, etc.)
For any databases that bear the EBSCO logo you would follow these steps:
It's almost as easy as EBSCO; there's just one extra sub-step.
Copy this bit of url: (This is called a "proxy prefix.")
and paste it in front of the Stable URL, with no spaces.
In other words, this
http://www.jstor.org/stable/495309 (Stable URL)
3. Place the 'new' link you have created anywhere you like in your course shell. You can treat it just like any other web url/link.
PRO-QUEST DATABASES (ABI/INFORM, New York Times Full-Text)
Very similar to JSTOR.
and paste it in front of the Document URL, with no spaces.
In other words, this
http://search.proquest.com/docview/733013913?accountid=39729 (Document URL)
4. Place the 'new' link you have created anywhere you like in your course shell. You can treat it just like any other web url/link.
1 The first step is to open Dashboard and select your course.
2 Click Add Content to a module.
3 Click Assignment
4 Select External Tool
5 Scroll down and click LibApps Library Content
6 Click Please select a site...
7 Click Libguides -libguides.columbias.edu
8 Click Please select a type...
9 Choose Full LibGuide, Single Page, or Content Box
10 Click Please select a guide...
11 Click on the guide you want. You can also type the guide name.
12 Click Please select an optional landing page...
13 Click the page you want your students to see first. If you are embedding a single content box, select the guide page and then the box.
14 Click Embed Content
15 Click Add Item
16 Click Unpublished. Click to publish.
17 That's it. You're done.