Regular Semester Hours:
|Monday - Thursday||8:00 a.m. – 8:00 p.m.|
|Friday||8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.|
|Saturday||Virtual Services Only|
|Sunday||3:00 p.m. - 8:00 p.m.|
Mission: The Library and Educational Technology’s mission is to support the educational program of Columbia College by providing an active information literacy program, active support for student and faculty technology integration, a strong collection of resources in a variety of formats, and a comfortable environment for individual and group study.
The Library’s information literacy program fosters information literacy defined as the ability to recognize when information is needed as well as to locate, evaluate, and use information effectively.
How do I login?
To login to OneSearch or the databases, use your full CC email address and your email password when prompted.
What services are available to online students?
Online students enjoy all of the services as in-person students. Online students have full access to databases and electronic library resources. Librarians can help online students on the phone, through email, or via electronic chat. Online students may also come to campus and use the physical resources (books, study rooms, etc.). See the Online Student Guide for more info.
As a student, how can I get a job in the library?
The library hires students every semester to work in Circulation and Reference. We offer flexible hours to accommodate your class schedule.
Does the library accept donations of money, books, etc.?
Gift items are accepted by the J. Drake Edens Library with the understanding that the library has the discretion to add or discard titles. Contact the Collection Development Librarian for further information.
For donations of money, contact the Library Director.
When was the Library built and/or remodeled or renovated?
The Library was built in 1967. Renovations have been made on the Lower Level in the Juvenile section and in the Overton Media Center, and in 2002, the Overton Classroom for Library Instruction (Room 120) was added. During the Summer and Fall of 2007, the Main Level of the Library was renovated to create the new Vandiver Reference Center. Most recently, during 2009 and 2010, additional renovations were made to the Lower Level, creating additional office and training spaces.
Where are the restrooms located?
Restrooms are located on the Lower and Upper Levels.
Borrowing and returning materials
Fines, Fees and Referrals
EQUIPMENT, BUILDING & ENVIRONMENT
LOST & FOUND
Who can borrow items
Materials at the Edens Library can be checked out by Columbia College students*, faculty, staff, and Columbia College alumnae.
Columbia College Alumnae
Columbia College Alumnae who wish to check out library materials are to see the Circulation Librarian or a Reference Librarian for assistance.
Procedure for Borrowing
Locate the materials you want and take them to the Circulation desk on the Main Level. All materials that circulate must be checked out at the Circulation Desk. Columbia College students, faculty and staff must present their Columbia College ID. Columbia College alumnae must present a valid driver's license or state ID.
Number of items that can be borrowed
While there are no limits on the number of books a Columbia College student or faculty/staff member may have out at one time, the following limits do apply in other cases:
Loan periods - how long items may be kept
Materials needed longer than the above lending periods may be renewed at the Circulation Desk on the Main Level or over the phone (786-3877).
Placing an item on hold
If an item is not immediately available for checkout, you may place a HOLD on the item at the Circulation Desk on the Main Level. You will be notified when the item is available. An item may not be immediately available because another patron has the item checked out or either the item is not on the shelf where it is supposed to be.
The patron is notified by phone or by mail when the item is available. The item will be held for 5 days.
Fines for overdue materials
|Books||$ .10 daily|
|All Media (except Videos/DVDs)||$ .10 daily|
|Videos/DVDs||$ .50 daily|
|One to three day Reserves||$1.00 daily
|Overnight and hourly Reserves||$ .25 hourly
Circulation notices are sent as a courtesy to remind library patrons of overdue items, hold pickups, and as a statement of charges owed to the library. As a courtesy, the library sends a notice of overdue materials to borrowers, but it is the borrower's responsibility to know when materials are due and to see that they are returned on time.
Business Office Referrals
The Business office serves as the collection agency for students who owe fines or charges to the library. A list of students with unpaid library fines/charges is sent to the business office each term.
Patrons unable to locate a title in its assigned location on the shelf should notify the Circulation Staff. A Missing Item Search Slip will be completed and the Circulation Manager will change the items status to MISSING. A search will be conducted for the missing material. If a missing title is not located within a six month period, the Circulation Librarian will submit a list to the Collection Development Librarian.
When a book/media title from the J. Drake Edens Library collection is determined to be lost, the item status will be changed to LOST. The patron who has it checked out is expected to pay a $10.00 non-refundable processing fee and the replacement cost of the material.
DO NOT return damp or damaged library materials through the book drop. Please hand them to a Circulation Desk worker with an explanation of what is wrong.
The J. Drake Edens Library staff considers damages to include - but not limited to - water damage, pencil marks, pen marks, highlighting, pages that are dog-eared or missing, teeth marks, and broken covers. Please do not write in or otherwise damage books or media material (CDs/ DVDs/VHS, KITs). Wet books are subject to mildew and must be withdrawn from the collection. Library patrons will be billed for replacement costs for book and media material that must be withdrawn. If damages occur while you have materials checked out or in your possession, contact the Circulation Desk immediately at 803-786-3877.
All damaged materials from the library collections that are brought to the attention of library staff will be sent to Technical Services with an accompanying damage report so that it can be determined by the Collection Development Librarian whether the material should be repaired, replaced or withdrawn from the collection. The patron who has materials checked out that are returned and determined to be damaged are expected to pay a $10.00 non-refundable processing fee in addition to the cost to replace the material. Damaged items will be held for 30 days after notification to the borrower. Damaged materials, following withdrawal from the collection, may be returned to the patron if requested.
NOTE: If a damaged book is returned to the stacks, a note will be added to the item record indicating the damage and the date by the Collection Development Librarian.
Contact the Circulation Manager for further information.
A full replacement value less the $10.00 processing fee will be refunded for material returned within one year of payment. The material will be inspected before returning it to the collection and a credit is initiated.
Contact the Circulation Manager for further information.
LIBRARY EQUIPMENT, BUILDING, & ENVIRONMENT
Computers and Computer Labs
There are nine computer workstations located in the Reference area which may be used for library research as well as Word processing, researching the Web, and accessing campus email.
There are also two computer labs located on the Lower Level in Room 121 and the Overton Media Center.
A photocopier is located along the wall directly behind the Circulation Desk on the Main Level. Photocopying may be done at the cost of $ .10 cents per page for black-and-white and $.25 cents per page for color. Payment is made at the Circulation Desk. It is the responsibility of the person making copies to adhere to the Copyright Laws. A notice of copyright is posted near the copier.
Quiet study environment
To ensure that a quiet atmosphere is maintained, patrons are asked to behave in a manner conducive to study and research. In heavy use areas, such as Circulation or Reference, please keep noise levels at a minimum. Also, we ask that you keep noise levels at a minimum in the study area in the Juvenile section (on the Lower Level). Due to the design of the building, noise tends to travel rather freely (and loudly) to other areas of the building.
The Upper Level is generally considered as the "quiet study floor," the area most conducive to quiet study.
To ensure that a quiet atmosphere conducive to study and research is maintained, we ask that you turn off or mute your cell phones while in the library.
If you must accept a phone call while in the library, we ask that you either keep the noise level and time of your conversation to a minimum or take the call in the library's foyer where you are less likely to disturb others who are researching and studying.
Study carrels for individual studying are located along the walls of the Upper Level. The Upper Level is generally considered as the "quiet study floor," the area most conducive to quiet individual study.
Overton Electronic Classroom - Room 120
The Overton Classroom for Library Instruction - Room 120 - is used for Information Literacy instruction session, which are taught by the Research & Instruction Librarians.
Edens Library Lost & Found Policy
(For personal items located in Edens Library)
Please notify the Circulation Manager of any lost and found personal items.