The CultureGrams Online Database is a leading reference for concise, reliable, and up-to-date cultural information on countries across the globe. It includes four editions: the World Edition (for junior high school and up) and the Kids, States, and Canadian Provinces editions (for upper elementary school students).
Opposing Viewpoints in Context is the premier online resource covering today's hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. Opposing Viewpoints in Context helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.
Pro/con viewpoint essays
More than 300 primary source documents
Biographies of social activists and reformers
Statistical tables, charts and graphs
Images and a link to Google Image Search
Podcasts, including weekly presidential addresses and premier NPR programs
A national and state curriculum standards search, correlated to the content that allows educators to quickly identify material by grade and discipline
Powered by Chronicling America, a joint project of the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress
For all age groups
Page images from selected historic newspapers of 25 states and the District of Columbia, published from 1836-1922
Includes 34 historic South Carolina newspapers published in Anderson, Anderson Court House, Bennettsville, Charleston, Columbia, Edgefield, Georgetown, Laurens, Orangeburg, Orangeburg Court House, Pickens Court House, Rock Hill, Sumter, and Sumterville
Searchable by date and keyword
Viewing options include PDF images, downloadable images, text only, and persistent links for sharing
Includes a searchable and browsable directory of U.S. newspapers from 1690-present
LearningExpress Library™ provides the most comprehensive selection of academic and career-related resources available in one platform. It provides academic skill building in reading, writing, math, and science, standardized test preparation, soft skills training, job search and career advancement, college admissions test preparation, professional licensing and certification test preparation, high school equivalency test prep, and much more. Prepare for the ACT, SAT, AP, and grad school exams like the LSAT. Also has GED and occupational certification exam prep, and Spanish-language content for the US Citizenship test.
For high school students
Search interface that provides access to information on many topics from magazines, newspapers, books, biographies, country reports, primary sources, video and more
Nearly 500 popular full-text high school magazines, including American Cheerleader, BMX Plus, Dirt Bike, Ebony, Girls' Life, Popular Mechanics, Popular Science, Sports Illustrated, and more
Includes the Columbia Encyclopedia, the CIA World Fact Book, and others
More than 1.2 million images of relevant photos, maps, and flags
Text-to-speech for HTML articles to assist struggling readers or those learning English
Lexile reading levels assigned to full-text articles
Teachers, librarians and student researchers can use this database to explore current events, social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics frequently discussed in the classroom.
TOPICsearch contains full text for tens of thousands of articles from diverse sources, including international newspapers, EBSCO's unparalleled collection of periodicals, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets and government information.