Edens Learning Commons: Education: Databases for Research

Education Databases

ERIC This link opens in a new window
Access to education literature and resources for education research. The database contains resources from 1966-present.
Education Full-Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Education Full Text™ provides full-text articles from over 350 journals as far back as 1996, in addition to indexing of over 770 periodicals dating back to 1983. Includes coverage of special education and more than 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests. Subject coverage includes adult education, multicultural/ethnic education, teaching methods and much more.
Content includes:
- Full text from over 350 journals as far back as 1996
- Indexing of over 770 periodicals dating back to 1983
- More than 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
A complimentary research database for teachers, Teacher Reference Center (TRC) provides indexing and abstracts for more than 220 peer-reviewed journals.
Topics include: Assessment, Best Practices, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Elementary Education, Higher Education, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, School Administration, Science & Mathematics, and Teacher Education.
Education: Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Streaming video platform serving millions of students and educators. This is a focused collection of videos specifically curated by Films on Demand on topics within Education.
National Council of Teachers of Mathematics This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the following: Journal for Research in Mathematics Education, Journal for Research in Mathematics Education, The Mathematics Teacher, Mathematics Teacher Educator, Mathematics Teaching in the Middle School, Teaching Children Mathematics, and The Arithmetic Teacher.
Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
The Chronicle is a source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators. The site features the complete contents of the latest issue; daily news and advice columns; thousands of current job listings; articles published since September 1989; vibrant discussion forums; and career-building tools such as online CV management, salary databases, and more.
To access The Chronicle from off-campus, follow these steps:
1. Go to chronicle.com
2. Click Log In in the upper right corner
3. Click "Create an account now"
4. An email will be sent to you confirming your new free account. Click the link in the body of the email to confirm.
Once you have completed these steps, you may Log In at chronicle.com at any time to enjoy the benefits of full readership.
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
Highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles specifically for professional educators. Contains more than 200 educational reports. Professional Development Collection is the most comprehensive collection of full text education journals in the world.
Content includes:
Booklist
Education
Education Digest
Education Week
Educational Leadership
High School Journal
Journal of Education
Journal of Educational Research
Phi Delta Kappan
Reading Teacher
School Library Journal
and many others.

Some research topics will require you to look beyond the education databases. Academic Search Complete is a good starting point if you need magazines or articles. If you need background information, try Credo Reference; it contains hundreds of encyclopedias. Does your topic have anything to do with behavior or mental health? Then try the behavioral sciences databases on the next tab.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Designed for academic institutions, this multi-disciplinary database is a leading resource for scholarly research with access to 5,500+ full-text journals. It supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books and more.
CultureGrams This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A leading reference for concise, reliable, and up-to-date cultural information on countries across the globe. It includes four editions: the World Edition (for junior high school and up) and the Kids, States, and Canadian Provinces editions (for upper elementary school students).
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Features viewpoint articles, topic overviews and other sources on contemporary issues. Helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.
Content Includes:
- Pro/con viewpoint essays
- Topic overviews
- More than 300 primary source documents
- Biographies of social activists and reformers
- Court-case overviews
- Periodical articles
- Statistical tables, charts and graphs
- Images and a link to Google Image Search
- Podcasts, including weekly presidential addresses and premier NPR programs
- A national and state curriculum standards search, correlated to the content that allows educators to quickly identify material by grade and discipline
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An easy to use tool for beginning research projects and homework. A giant online collection that searches hundreds of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations and subject specific titles as well as 200,000+ images and audio files and nearly 100 videos.
Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
Online access to the complete Encyclopedia Britannica.

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. This is the world's largest full text psychology database offering full text coverage for nearly 400 journals.
APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
PsycARTICLES®, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to the present.
SocINDEX (with Full-Text) This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX with Full Text covers a broad range of studies, including gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, religion, racial studies and social work. Contains full-text journals and informative abstracts for core coverage journals dating as far back as 1895, and extensive indexing for books, monographs, conference papers and other non-periodical content sources, and cited references
Content Includes:
- Nearly 895 full-text journals and magazines
- More than 850 full-text books and monographs
- Dozens of working papers, dissertations, and conference proceedings
- Abstracts for more than 1,500 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as 1895
- Data mined from an additional 420 "priority" coverage journals and 2,919+ "selective" coverage journals
- More than 2.3 million records
- Subject headings from a 28,000+ term sociological thesaurus

Education

Logging in to Databases

Search Tips

Education Databases

Databases for Other Subjects

J. Drake Edens Library

College Links

Library Links