Home - BIO 265 - Infectious Disease Brochure - Edens Learning Commons at Columbia College (SC)

Overview

From your assignment sheet: Use the starting points in this guide to assist with your assignment of developing an educational brochure for patients in a doctor's office or hospital that addresses the following aspects of an infectious disease:

Overview of organism
Overview of disease
How disease is contracted
Signs & symptoms
Diagnosis
Treatments & disease management
Future research & resources
Optional: statistics, organ system involvement, preventatives

Remember to critically evaluate the information you find - sharing unsound information with patents could be harmful!

Use the evaluation tab for suggestions from the National Library of Medicine.

Overviews

Start with an overview site to learn the basics of the disease you chose. Use the information to inform your search for research-based articles to gain deeper understanding from an empirical perspective. These are a few suggestions.

U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
The CDC used to be the premiere organization for scientific information on disease prevention, spread, and treatment. Since becoming politicized during the first Trump administration, the information should be vetted for alignment with consensus by independent research.
Mayo Clinic
Cleveland Clinic
Mayo Clinic and Cleveland Clinic are prominent health care providers that also conduct research and provide education about diseases and conditions.

Research Articles

Use these resources to find research-based articles.

PLOS: Public Library of Science This link opens in a new window
PLOS is a nonprofit organization of scientists and physicians committed to making the world's scientific and medical literature a freely available public resource.
Open access to 7 online peer-reviewed journals in the fields of Biology, Medicine, Computational Biology,
Genetics, Pathogens and Neglected Tropical Diseases. physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
This is the definitive research tool for nursing and allied health professionals. Fast and easy full-text access to top journals, evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and more.
Science This link opens in a new window
World's leading journal of original scientific research, global news, and commentary. Science Online provides digital access to all Science content from 1997 to the current issue, including prepublication content.
Science Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full text science-oriented content, containing full text for nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, etc. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.
Content Includes:
- More than 200 Full-Text Science Periodicals
- More than 700 Full-Text Science Reference Books
- 17 Full-Text Science Encyclopedias
- More than 800 Full-Text Science Essays
- Nearly 3,000 Full-Text, Full-Length Biographies
- 61 Science Animations
- Nearly 20,000 Science Images
- More than 500 Science Videos
eLife This link opens in a new window
eLife publishes outstanding research in the life sciences and biomedicine, from the most fundamental and theoretical work, through to translational, applied, and clinical research.