J. Drake Edens Library: SLP 375: Speech Disorders: Databases

Databases

Best Bets for SLP

ASHA Wire/Perspectives This link opens in a new window
ASHA features 19 Special Interest Groups (SIGs)—professional communities focused on advancing research and professional practice in communication sciences and disorders.

With a nearly 25-year history, Perspectives is relied on as the official publication of the SIGs and is an important source of continuing education opportunities for SIG affiliates, ASHA members, and users throughout the world.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Communication & Mass Media Complete (CMMC) offers full text and cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for journals covering communication, mass media, journalism, linguistics, rhetoric, language, logic, and other closely related fields.
ASHA Evidence Maps This link opens in a new window
An Evidence Map is a searchable online tool designed to assist clinicians with making evidence-based decisions. Each Evidence Map highlights the importance of the three components of evidence-based practice—external scientific evidence, clinical expertise, and client perspectives—and provides the latest information related to the assessment, treatment, and service delivery for various communication disorders.

Psychology Databases

APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
PsycARTICLES®, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains more than 153,000 articles from nearly 80 journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to the present and nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. This is the world's largest full text psychology database offering full text coverage for nearly 400 journals.

Medical Databases

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
This is the definitive research tool for nursing and allied health professionals. With CINAHL Complete, users get fast and easy full-text access to top journals, evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and more. A resource that hundreds of thousands of nurses and allied health professionals rely on.
MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window
The largest companion to the MEDLINE index, this full-text database provides access to top-tier biomedical and health journals. Covering a wide range of subjects, it is an essential resource for doctors, nurses, health professionals and researchers engaged in clinical care, public health and health policy development.

Research & Instruction Librarian

Brittany Hickey

She/Her

Email Me

Contact:

Edens 214-C

803-786-3703

Helpful Hints

You are not limited to just these databases. Think about all the sides of your topic to help you determine what other databases you might want to use. To find a complete list of databases click the button below.

Go to A-Z List

For more help getting started, view the Research Starter Guide.

SLP 375: Speech Disorders: Databases

Assignment

Databases

Research & Instruction Librarian

Helpful Hints

J. Drake Edens Library

College Links

Library Links