Speech-Language Pathology

How to find the best Databases

1. To find subject/discipline focused databases go to the library homepage
2. Scroll down to the bottom
3. Find the first option in the column located to the right of the page labeled Research and Databases
4. This will guide you to a page where the databases are organized by subjects and type of research
    

Discipline Focused Databases

ASHA Wire/ Perspectives 

As a scholarly review journal, Perspectives is intently focused on supporting the continued advancement of evidence-based practice in CSD. Practicing audiologists, speech-language pathologists, and related professionals will benefit from tutorials, case reports, review articles, and clinical focus pieces—among others—and will also find Perspectives to be an ideal publishing outlet that allows their knowledge gained in practice to better inform future research in CSD
 

SpeechBite 

A database of intervention studies across the scope of speech pathology practice. The database provides ready access to citations and, where possible, abstracts from systematic reviews, randomised controlled trials, non-randomised controlled trials, single-case experimental designs and case series. speechBITE also indexes clinical practice guidelines of relevance to speech pathology practice.

How to Navigate ASHA Wire

How to find General Databases

1. To find these databases go to library homepage
2. Scroll down to the bottom
3. Find the first option in the column located to the right of the page Research and Databases
4. These will be located in the Most Popular column, or you can find then in the A-Z databases
    

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Is a multidisciplinary database, with advanced search options. You have to be more specific with your keywords in order to get relevant results. 

Semantic Scholar
Is a multidisciplinary database which helps narrow down results of academically published articles and documents. This database can narrow results down by how many times an article has been cited and the significance of those citations. You do have to make an account but it is FREE!

Education Full-Text (H.W. Wilson)

Provides full text of articles from over 350 journals as far back as 1996, in addition to indexing of more than 770 periodicals dating back to 1983. Content includes in-depth coverage of special education and more than 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests. Subject coverage includes adult education, multicultural/ethnic education, teaching methods and much more