Primary Sources: Databases

Covering more than 500 years of the African-American experience, African-American History offers a fresh way to explore the full spectrum of African-American history and culture. Designed more for secondary education students.

Comprehensive coverage of the African American experience from the early 18th century to the present day. Sourced from more than 19,000 American and global news sources, including over 400 current and historical Black publications. A unique digital archive of American and global news media covering the African American experience.

A bibliographic index database guide to printed records about the Americas, written in Europe before 1750. The database contains more than 32,000 entries as a reference to historic writings.

Includes full-text biographical information on more than one million people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. It merges Gale's authoritative reference content, including Lives & Perspectives, with periodicals and multimedia. Users can also search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender, as well as by keyword and full text.

This section has been designed as a resource to connect Times journalism with key areas of study for students and faculty through our Education Subscription Program.

World's premier magazine of scientific discovery and technological innovation for the general public. In every issue, leading scientists, inventors and engineers from diverse fields describe their ideas and achievements in clear and accessible prose; the work of select journalists rounds out the offerings.

Powered by Chronicling America, a joint project of the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress to provide digital access to select historic newspapers.

Provides scholarly and popular LGBTQ+ publications in full text, plus historically important primary sources, including monographs, magazines and newspapers. It also includes a specialized LGBTQ+ thesaurus containing thousands of terms.

Designed specifically for public libraries, MasterFILE Premier provides full text for nearly 1,700 magazines, reference books, and primary source documents.

Full text of over 150 middle school magazines and other resources