Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Opportunities in Adult Education by
Call Number: eBook Collection
Publication Date: 2008-04-11
Further your success with a career in continuing education! Get started in a career that has a promising future and is financially rewarding. Opportunities in Adult Education Careers provides you with a complete overview of the job possibilities, salary figures, and experience required to enter the field of adult education. This career-boosting book will help you: Determine the specialty that's right for you, from continuing education to administration to counseling Acquire in-depth knowledge of adult education Find out what kind of salary you can expect Understand the daily routine of your chosen field Focus your job search using industry resources ENJOY A GREAT CAREER AS AN: Dean of students * ESL teacher * Computer lab instructor * ABE teacher * Career counselor * GED instructor
The Dream and the Reality of Teaching by
Call Number: Proquest Ebook Central
Publication Date: 2011-04-01
The dream of teaching is that a career in teaching can be fascinating, meaningful, inspiring, and rewarding. The reality of teaching is that a career in teaching can be exhausting, frustrating, heart-breaking, and disappointing. How can the dream endure and thrive while the reality is confronted and mastered? Keen Babbage guides prospective teachers through an analysis of the profession they are considering and of their match with that profession. For one who is already in a teaching career, this book gives the reader an opportunity to reflect on progress that has been made, problems that have been encountered, and how to hold onto the dream of teaching while facing the increasingly complex reality of teaching.
101 Careers in Education by
Call Number: Proquest Ebook Central
Publication Date: 2015-08-01
Education is a rewarding area of work that provides some of the most diverse career opportunities of any field. Written by educators with real-world knowledge of the profession, this information-packed guide provides the career explorer with concise information on the necessary skills, training, certification/licensure, compensation, and employment outlook for over 100 careers in a wide range of education settings. This book describes careers that range from working with very young children to positions in traditional K-12 schools to educating adults in organizational settings. It discusses careers suitable for those who enjoy working with people as well as careers for individuals who are more comfortable with information or ideas. A particularly useful feature is information about alternative paths to working in education for those with degrees in related service professions. Careers outside of traditional settings include work in adult education, independent education, business or government settings, community-based educational services, and part-time opportunities, to name a few. Special attention is paid to positions in STEM and educational technology, one of education's fastest-growing careers, and careers of leadership including management, innovation, and accountability. The authors also provide a guide to self-assessment that helps readers to learn about those careers that best match their interests and temperament. Interviews with education professionals in a variety of arenas, such as middle school foreign language teacher, special education teacher, Head Start coordinator, and college athletic director, offer an in-depth look at different career opportunities. Key Features: Covers 101 careers including necessary skills, training, certification/licensure, compensation, and employment outlook Includes career options for new teachers, those changing careers within education, and those seeking education as a second career Includes many career options outside of traditional school settings Presents interviews with 23 individuals in different educational positions Provides self-assessment questions, information pertaining to professional development, and guidance on the job-search process
Working World: Careers in International Education, Exchange, and Development by
Call Number: Ebook Collection
Publication Date: 2008-07-31
Are you looking for a career with professional rewards and personal satisfaction? Perhaps you'd like to find meaningful employment in the field of international relations? Working World is the perfect resource for making sound career choices, and is particularly valuable for those interested in exploring a career in international education, exchange, and development. Sherry Mueller, president emeritus of a large nonprofit organization with an international focus, and Mark Overmann, a young professional on his way up, serve as spirited guidance counselors and offer valuable insight on launching a career, not just landing a job. The two authors--representing contrasting personalities, levels of experience, and different generations--engage in an entertaining dialogue designed to highlight alternative approaches to the same destination: making a difference in the world. With a rich mix of anecdotes and advice, the two authors present their individual perspectives on career development: identifying your cause, the art of networking, the value of mentors, and careers as "continuous journeys." Mueller and Overmann push job seekers to challenge assumptions about what it means to pursue a career in international relations and to recognize that the path to career success is rarely straight. To help the job seeker chart the best course, Working World provides specific resources including annotated lists of selected organizations, websites, and further reading. Profiles of twelve professionals, from promising young associates to presidents and CEOs, illustrate the book's main topics. Each professional provides insight into his or her career choices, distills lessons learned, and offers practical advice about building a career in international affairs. All of these resources were chosen specifically to help job seekers map the next steps toward the internship, job, or other opportunity that will give shape to the career they envision.