Career Resources: Graduate School

Landing a job in today's academic job market is no easy feat. Is graduate school the answer? This informed and candid book provides anyone thinking about pursuing an advanced degree--and those who support them--with the inside scoop on what to expect in graduate school. Amanda I. Seligman helps potential students navigate graduate study--not just how to get in but how to succeed once you are there and what to expect when you leave. She weighs the pros and cons of attending graduate school against achieving a sustainable work-life balance and explains the application process, the culture of graduate school, and employment prospects for academics. This book guides readers through the ins and outs of graduate school, and no topic is off limits, including * qualifications and admission guidelines * financial aid and graduate stipends * meeting expectations and residency requirements * coursework, theses, and dissertations * degrees, jobs, and academic careers * tenure, research, and peer review * social life (will you still have one?) Written in a question-and-answer format, Is Graduate School Really for You? eliminates the guesswork. Whether you are considering applying to graduate school, already enrolled, or would simply like to know more about continuing your education, this is the book for you.

For more than fifteen years The Graduate School Funding Handbook has been an invaluable resource for students applying to graduate school in the United States or abroad, at the master's, doctoral, and postdoctoral levels. Illuminating the competitive world of graduate education funding in the arts, humanities, sciences, and engineering, the book offers general and specific information in an intelligent, comprehensive, and straightforward manner so that readers can save time and make winning grant and fellowship applications. The authors include detailed descriptions of the types of funding offered graduate students, ranging from tuition scholarships to assistantships, work-study opportunities, and university loan programs. In addition, the handbook thoroughly covers the availability of nationally prominent grants and fellowships through the federal government and private organizations. This revised third edition provides a wealth of additional information and advice and details a number of new grant opportunities including several aimed at women, minorities, and other underrepresented student groups. Covering fellowships and grants for individual training, study abroad, research, dissertations, and postdoctoral work, the book includes useful addresses, deadlines, number of available awards, number of applicants, purpose of grants and restrictions, duration of awards, applicant eligibility, and application requirements. The information is comprehensive, detailed, and current, based on data from funding agencies through interviews, review of application packets, web site information, and the authors' many years of experience in the field.

A Guide to Academia is a handbook for all those individuals thinking seriously about going to graduate school. Written by an author with extensive experience navigating the academic world, the book explains all the steps and potential bumps in the road that a student might encounter as they take the plunge into academia. Each chapter begins with a section called the "hard truth," which will help students determine if they are on the right path. Starting with an undergraduate student looking for a graduate school, the reader is taken on a journey up the academic ladder through graduate studies, a postdoctoral fellowship and an assistant professorship. Each chapter gives advice on not only how to survive the current stage but how to get to the next stage quickly. Enhanced with material from the author's own job applications and interview presentations, A Guide to Academia provides concrete examples of the tools needed for a successful career in academia.