Skip to main content

Faculty: Home

Monday-Thursday 8:00am-Midnight | Friday 8:00am-5:00pm | Saturday 10:00am-5:00pm | Sunday 3:00pm-Midnight

Placing an item on reserve

Edens Library places materials on reserve each semester by request of faculty members for a faculty-designated length of time. Both personal and library materials are placed on reserve in accordance with Copyright Laws.

Faculty members are asked to place materials on reserve before the semester begins to ensure the material is available for student use.

  • A completed reserve form (available at the Circulation desk) must accompany all reserve materials
  • Please remember to list all materials placed on reserve on the back of the reserve form
  • The faculty member is responsible for pulling library materials they need placed on the reserve shelf

Photocopied materials should include:

  • Any copyright notice on the original
  • Appropriate citation and attributions to the source

Reserve materials are located on shelves behind the Circulation Desk. Students MUST PRESENT their ID card at the Circulation Desk to check out the material for the length of time designated.

Reserve Loan Periods:

3 Hour (Library Use Only) This material is checked out for a 3-hour period anytime during library hours.
Due in 12 Hours This material is checked out for a 12-hour period only. The overdue fine rate on this material is .25 cents an hour.
Due in 24 Hours The overdue fine rate on this material is $1.00 per day.
Due in 72 Hours The overdue fine rate on this material is $1.00 per day.

 

NOTICE: WARNING CONCERNING COPYRIGHT RESTRICTIONS: The Copyright Law of the US (Title 17, United States Code) governs the making of photocopies or other reproduction of copyrighted materials. Under certain conditions specified in the law, libraries and archives are authorized to furnish a photocopy or other reproduction. One of these specified conditions is that the photocopy or reproduction is not to be "used for any purpose other than private study, scholarship, or research." If a user makes a request for, or later uses a photocopy or reproduction for purposes in excess of "fair use," that user is liable for copyright infringement.

Questions? Please contact:

Chuck Walsh
803.786.3878

Scheduling a Library Instruction Session

Just like you, we want your students to be the best that they can be! Scheduling an Information Literacy session for your class can make the difference between a lackluster paper/project and one that is A+ quality!

How could a library Information Literacy session benefit my students? Is it worth giving up an entire class period?

Absolutely! All too often we assume that any student who enters college must be technology-savvy and can therefore handle herself in the college's library. But oftentimes, that is simply not the case. Many students are indeed 'gadget-savvy,' but this does not necessarily mean they are 'information savvy'; they may be able to acquire a great deal of information, but can often make poor choices in the quality of information they gather. That is where we, the library staff, come in! One 50-minute Information Literacy session at the library can reap enormous short-and long-term benefits for your students.

How do I schedule an Information Literacy session?

Contact Brittany Hickey (3570) or stop by the Edens 214C.

If you've never scheduled a session before, here are just a few things to keep in mind:

DO

  • Contact us at least 2 weeks in advance of the time you'd like to bring your class in. The further in advance you contact us, the better. Most instruction takes place in the Overton Classroom (Rm 120), which can get booked pretty quickly.
     
  • Provide us with a copy of the assignment with the objective/goal of the assignment clearly stated and a short description of what sources you want/will allow your students to use. (For example, "You [the student] must use at least five scholarly sources, three of which must come from academic journals and two from books. You may also use the Internet for one additional source." OR "You may not use the Internet.") 
     
  • Provide us with basic information about your class: class size, what year most students are, etc. Even seemingly trivial information, such as "This is a really sharp class; they're really on top of things." Or "This class has been struggling somewhat this semester" can be helpful for us to know. 
     
  • Attend the session 
    Students take note when their instructor is present at an IL session (and when he/she is not), which sends the message of the importance of the session. Plus, we always like to hear contributions from instructors during our IL sessions! 

TRY TO AVOID

  • Last-minute requests 
    Like all CC faculty, we want our lessons to be well prepared, making sure that ACRL guidelines appropriate to the level of instruction for information literacy standards, are followed. 

     
  • Scheduling the IL session too far ahead of or close to the due date of the assignment
    The longer the period of time between instruction of research skills and the execution of those skills, the more students tend to forget. Students can be very shy to ask for help with that which they've already been taught. So having them use those skills while they're still fresh is best. (But not too fresh!) 

     
  • Sending students by individually to receive detailed library instruction
    If you have 2 classes of 20 students each and they're all writing a big research paper that will require detailed library instruction...well...that's 40 individual IL sessions for us! (IF, that is, the students do in fact come by the library. If left to their own devices, they may not.) Better to bring each class in for one IL session. 

     
  • Using a recycled 'canned' "library orientation" assignment, as we find these can be outdated and may not be relevant to the resources at Edens Library. If you do not have an assignment for your students that would specifically bring them into the library, and you'd like your students to do some type of "library orientation" assignment and you don't already have one established, we would be more than happy to work one-on-one with you to custom design such an assignment. 

How to embed an article from a database into your course

Get the FAQs on article Permalink embedding!

I have an article in mind that I'd like to make accessible in my course shell for my students to read. How can I do that?

It's entirely possible Edens Library might have full-text access to the article via one of our subscription databases. If we do, a Permalink can easily be created. This link, like any other web url, can then be inserted anywhere in your course shell. The steps at the bottom of this page show you how.


I found this article on a professional organization's website to which I have a paid membership. But my students don't, so they won't be able to access and read it. How can I find out if this same article is accessible in one of our databases so that they can read it?

Easy! You can email a librarian the citation information and we will be happy to check for you. If the article is available full-text, we will be happy to send you the Permalink.


Can't I just download the PDF (or scan the article and make a PDF), and then upload it to my course shell?

Technologically, that is possible. However, we do not recommend this practice as it is not in compliance with copyright law.


Will this Permalink take the student directly to the article? How does it work?

Whether on- or off-campus, the Permalink will take the student to the library's proxy server login page. They will simply log in (using their CC email address & password) and click Submit. They will then be taken directly to the full-text of the article.


I've already found the article in one of our databases. I just need to know how to get the Permalink. How do I do that?

Edens Library has access to a variety of subscription databases. The process might vary slightly depending on which database you are using. See below for database-specific instructions:


EBSCO DATABASES (Academic Search Complete, CMMC, ERIC, etc.)
For any databases that bear the EBSCO logo you would follow these steps:

  1. Once you have identified and accessed the full-text article you would like to embed in your course shell, click the Permalink icon. (Far right-hand margin, looks like a chain link.)
  2. The permalink will appear towards the top of the screen; copy that link.
  3. Place the link anywhere you like in your course shell. You can treat it just like any other web url/link.

JSTOR
It's almost as easy as EBSCO; there's just one extra sub-step.

  1. Once you have identified the article you would like to embed in your course shell, copy and paste the Stable URL somewhere, such as a Word file. (The Stable URL should be located under Published by and DOI info.) 
    Make sure the article is, in fact, one to which Columbia College has full-text access.
  2. Now you will need to add the library's "proxy prefix" to the Stable URL. Here's how:

Copy this bit of url: (This is called a "proxy prefix.")

https://columbiacollege.idm.oclc.org/login?url=

and paste it in front of the Stable URL, with no spaces.

In other words, this

http://www.jstor.org/stable/495309 (Stable URL)

becomes this

https://columbiacollege.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://www.jstor.org/stable/495309

      3. Place the 'new' link you have created anywhere you like in your course shell. You can treat it just like any other web url/link.

 


PRO-QUEST DATABASES (ABI/INFORM, New York Times Full-Text)
Very similar to JSTOR.

  1. Once you have identified the article you would like to embed in your course shell, click on Abstract/Details. (Make sure the article is, in fact, one to which Columbia College has full-text access.)
  2. Scroll all the way down and copy and paste the Document URL somewhere, such as a Word file.
  3. Now you will need to add the library's "proxy prefix" to the Document URL. Here's how: 
    Copy this bit of url: (This is called a "proxy prefix.")

https://columbiacollege.idm.oclc.org/login?url=

and paste it in front of the Document URL, with no spaces.

In other words, this

http://search.proquest.com/docview/733013913?accountid=39729 (Document URL)

becomes this

https://columbiacollege.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/docview/733013913?accountid=39729

      4. Place the 'new' link you have created anywhere you like in your course shell. You can treat it just like any other web url/link.

Embed a Libguide

17 STEPS


1 The first step is to open Dashboard and select your course.

Step 1 image

2 Click Add Content to a module.

Step 2 image

3 Click Assignment

Step 3 image

4 Select External Tool

Step 4 image

5 Scroll down and click LibApps Library Content

Step 5 image

6 Click Please select a site...

Step 6 image

7 Click Libguides -libguides.columbias.edu

Step 7 image

8 Click Please select a type...

Step 8 image

9 Choose Full LibGuide, Single Page, or Content Box

Step 9 image

10 Click Please select a guide...

Step 10 image

11 Click on the guide you want. You can also type the guide name.

Step 11 image

12 Click Please select an optional landing page...

Step 12 image

13 Click the page you want your students to see first. If you are embedding a single content box, select the guide page and then the box.

Step 13 image

14 Click Embed Content

Step 14 image

15 Click Add Item

Step 15 image

16 Click Unpublished. Click to publish.

Step 16 image

17 That's it. You're done.

Step 17 image

Here's an interactive tutorial for the visual learners

https://www.iorad.com/player/1594294/How-to-embed-a-Library-Research-Guide-into-Canvas

Request a Library Research Guide

Request a library research guide for your course(s). We'll tailor the guide to meet the specific assignment needs of your course. The guide can even be embedded in your Canvas course shell!

Suggest a purchase

Want to make a purchase suggestion to Edens Library? Email us as much of the following information as you can.

  • Title
  • Author/Director/Creator
  • Publisher/Producer
  • ISBN/ISSN
  • Where you originally learned of the item

THANK YOU! We look forward to hearing from you.