Edens Learning Commons: Arts & Humanities : Databases for the Arts & Humanities

Arts & Humanities Databases

General:

Academic Search Complete Designed for academic institutions, this multi-disciplinary database is a leading resource for scholarly research with access to 5,500+ full-text journals. It supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, and books.
JSTOR Access full text of journal articles (not including the most recent 2-6 years) as well as books and book chapters in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Also includes ArtSTOR with thousands of images from numerous collections.

Dance:

Alexander Street - Dance Online: Dance In Video Alexander Street's Dance Online: Dance in Video offers a wide collection of videos of high-caliber live performances to help complete the learning experience of students and scholars.
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text Research tool for the study of theatre, dance and the performing arts, providing articles from journals, magazines, and some books in all areas of theatre and dance; dates vary by publication
On the Boards tv Streaming subscription service and archive for ground-breaking artistic projects and contemporary performances.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This database covers key areas of sports medicine and related fields. Content areas range from sports physiology and sports psychology to physical education and recreation. SPORTDiscus is ideal for researchers studying different aspects of kinesiology, fitness, health, and sport studies. Sports, recreation, physical fitness, and sport science. 1975-present with some monograph indexing dating back to 1800.

English:

Bloom's Literature Contains essays on well-known writers, works, and influential movements and evens in world literature plus bios, character entries, and videos.
The Cambridge Companion to American Gothic
Gale Artemis: Literary Sources Combines Literature Resource Center with Gale Virtual Reference Library in one interface. Articles, critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, and biographies covering authors, their works, and literary movements.
Gale's Literary Index Gale's Literary Index is a master index to the major literature products published by Gale. It combines and cross-references over 165,000 author names, including pseudonyms and variant names, and listings for over 215,000 titles into one source.
Literary Reference Source Full-text information on authors and works from reference works, books, and literary journals.
MLA International Bibliography Provides international scholarly materials, including journal articles, books/chapters, and dissertations, on literature, modern language, linguistics, and folklore.
MLA Directory of Periodicals Detailed information on over 5,500 journals. The detailed entries include editorial contact information, as well as frequency, circulation, subscription prices and submission guidelines.

Music:

JSTOR The music content on JSTOR includes more than 70 journals and 50 academic eBooks and covers many interdisciplinary subjects, overlapping with areas such as African-American studies, education, and the performing arts. Music content on JSTOR is strong in musicology, ethnomusicology, music theory, and music education.

Studio Art:

JSTOR includes ArtSTOR with thousands of images from numerous collections.

Some research topics will require you to look beyond the education databases. Academic Search Complete is a good starting point if you need magazines or articles. If you need background information, try Credo Reference; it contains hundreds of encyclopedias. Does your topic have anything to do with behavior or mental health? Then try the behavioral sciences databases on the next tab.

Academic Search Complete
Designed for academic institutions, this multi-disciplinary database is a leading resource for scholarly research with access to 5,500+ full-text journals. It supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books and more.
CultureGrams
A leading reference for concise, reliable, and up-to-date cultural information on countries across the globe. It includes four editions: the World Edition (for junior high school and up) and the Kids, States, and Canadian Provinces editions (for upper elementary school students).
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints
Features viewpoint articles, topic overviews and other sources on contemporary issues. Helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.
Content Includes:
- Pro/con viewpoint essays
- Topic overviews
- More than 300 primary source documents
- Biographies of social activists and reformers
- Court-case overviews
- Periodical articles
- Statistical tables, charts and graphs
- Images and a link to Google Image Search
- Podcasts, including weekly presidential addresses and premier NPR programs
- A national and state curriculum standards search, correlated to the content that allows educators to quickly identify material by grade and discipline
Credo Reference
An easy to use tool for beginning research projects and homework. A giant online collection that searches hundreds of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations and subject specific titles as well as 200,000+ images and audio files and nearly 100 videos.
Britannica Academic
Online access to the complete Encyclopedia Britannica.

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
Comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. This is the world's largest full text psychology database offering full text coverage for nearly 400 journals.
APA PsycArticles
PsycARTICLES®, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to the present.
SocINDEX (with Full-Text)
SocINDEX with Full Text covers a broad range of studies, including gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, religion, racial studies and social work. Contains full-text journals and informative abstracts for core coverage journals dating as far back as 1895, and extensive indexing for books, monographs, conference papers and other non-periodical content sources, and cited references
Content Includes:
- Nearly 895 full-text journals and magazines
- More than 850 full-text books and monographs
- Dozens of working papers, dissertations, and conference proceedings
- Abstracts for more than 1,500 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as 1895
- Data mined from an additional 420 "priority" coverage journals and 2,919+ "selective" coverage journals
- More than 2.3 million records
- Subject headings from a 28,000+ term sociological thesaurus

Arts & Humanities

Arts & Humanities Databases

Databases for Other Subjects

J. Drake Edens Library

College Links

Library Links