Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EDU 150: Intro to Research in Education: Articles

Articles

The best way to find scholarly journal articles is by searching our online Databases.

Once inside the database:

  • Check-mark the Scholarly/Peer-Reviewed box. (You may have to scroll down a bit to see this choice).
  • Begin your search by typing in your keywords and clicking on Search.

Feel free to experiment by using helpful search features, such as Date Span or Full-Text only! 

Although check-marking the Scholarly/Peer-Reviewed selection box will greatly increase your chances of finding such articles, we also strongly suggest you evaluate the article as well; your professors will appreciate it if you do! Typically, "scholarly journal articles" tend to have the following characteristics: 

  • Longer/more substantive than an article in a popular magazine
  • Written by an author(s) with expertise in the field and easily identifiable credentials 
  • Well structured and well organized
  • Published in/by a reputable source
  • Long list of References at the end of the article

​Need advice? Just call or email a librarian. We're always happy to help!

Reference Desk: 803.786.3703
Email: refdesk@columbiasc.edu

Start with ERIC and use the “Choose Databases” feature to search all three databases at once. Follow the steps below:

  1. Once inside the database, click “Choose Databases.” From the list of other databases that come up, I would highly recommend check-marking Education Full-Text and Academic Search complete as well. 
  2. Before you begin typing inside the search box, you should scroll down and set the following search parameters:
    • Full Text
    • Scholarly/peer-review
    • Set your Published Date From to whatever your professor recommends. (ie. the last 5 years, the last 10 years, etc.) 

When accessing our databases, you will be prompted to log in. Enter your Username and Password. 

Username: Your username is your full CC email address, which should be your firstname.lastname@my.columbiasc.edu.
Password: Unless you have changed it, your password should be Koala (with a capital "K"), plus the last 4 digits of your SSN. 

Example
Username: jane
.doe@my.columbiasc.edu 
Password: Koala1234

** Please Note: If you are refused the first time, please log in a second time. (Sometimes it takes the system time to recognize you.)

Having trouble? Click the Contact Us tab on this guide.