It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Disaster and Emergency Management: Articles About DEM
Columbia College has access to several specialized research databases that contain thousands of high-quality articles relevant to your topic that are not available on the Internet. Your instructors will be highly impressed if you use these valuable resources.
Types of articles include:
professionally written articles in trade publications
scholarly journal articles
articles/chapters from highly specialized Encyclopedias and/or eBooks
Keep scrolling for more information on how to access these articles.
Academic Search CompleteDesigned for academic institutions, this database is a leading resource for scholarly research. It supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books and more.
ABI / INFORM CompleteThe database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
Health Source: Consumer EditionThis database is the richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Health Source: Consumer Edition provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines.
Nearly 80 Full-Text Magazines
Full Text for Current, Health-Related Pamphlets
Nearly 130 Full-Text Reference Books
More than 13,000 Clinical Reference Systems reports
Homeland Security Digital LibraryThe Homeland Security Digital Library is composed of homeland security related documents collected from a wide variety of sources. These include federal, state, tribal, and local government agencies, professional organizations, think tanks, academic institutions, and international governing bodies. Resources are carefully selected and evaluated by a team of librarians and subject-matter specialists.
When accessing our databases, you will be prompted to log in. Enter your Username and Password.
Username: Your username is your full CC email address, which should be your firstname.lastname@example.org. Password: Unless you have changed it, your password should be Koala (with a capital "K"), plus the last 4 digits of your SSN.
** Please Note: If you are refused the first time, please log in a second time. (Sometimes it takes the system time to recognize you.)
Having trouble? Click the Contact Us tab on this guide.
Q. In order to pull up the most relevant, helpful articles, what should I type in the search box once I'm inside the database?
A. Try one or more of these search phrases to get you started. But feel free to come up with your own terms.
Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA)
Q. How can I make sure that the articles that come up in the Results list are the full article, and not just an abstract?
A. Make sure that the Full-Text box is check-marked.
The best way to find scholarly journal articles is by searching our online Databases.
Once inside the database:
Check-mark the Scholarly/Peer-Reviewed box. (You may have to scroll down a bit to see this choice).
Begin your search by typing in your keywords and clicking on Search.
Feel free to experiment by using helpful search features, such as Date Span or Full-Text only!
Although check-marking the Scholarly/Peer-Reviewed selection box will greatly increase your chances of finding such articles, we also strongly suggest you evaluate the article as well; your professors will appreciate it if you do! Typically, "scholarly journal articles" tend to have the following characteristics:
Longer/more substantive than an article in a popular magazine
Written by an author(s) with expertise in the field and easily identifiable credentials
Well structured and well organized
Published in/by a reputable source
Long list of References at the end of the article
Need advice? Just call or email a librarian. We're always happy to help!