Skip to main content

J. Drake Edens Library: Faculty

J. Drake Edens Library

Placing Items On Reserve

Edens Library places materials on reserve each semester by request of faculty members for a faculty-designated length of time. Both personal and library materials are placed on reserve in accordance with Copyright Laws.

Faculty members are asked to place materials on reserve before the semester begins to ensure the material is available for student use.

  • A completed reserve form (available at the Circulation desk) must accompany all reserve materials
  • Please remember to list all materials placed on reserve on the back of the reserve form
  • The faculty member is responsible for pulling library materials they need placed on the reserve shelf

Photocopied materials should include:

  • Any copyright notice on the original
  • Appropriate citation and attributions to the source

Reserve materials are located on shelves behind the Circulation Desk. Students MUST PRESENT their ID card at the Circulation Desk to check out the material for the length of time designated.

Reserve Loan Periods:

3 Hour (Library Use Only) This material is checked out for a 3-hour period anytime during library hours.
Due in 12 Hours This material is checked out for a 12-hour period only. The overdue fine rate on this material is .25 cents an hour.
Due in 24 Hours The overdue fine rate on this material is $1.00 per day.
Due in 72 Hours The overdue fine rate on this material is $1.00 per day.

 

NOTICE: WARNING CONCERNING COPYRIGHT RESTRICTIONS: The Copyright Law of the US (Title 17, United States Code) governs the making of photocopies or other reproduction of copyrighted materials. Under certain conditions specified in the law, libraries and archives are authorized to furnish a photocopy or other reproduction. One of these specified conditions is that the photocopy or reproduction is not to be "used for any purpose other than private study, scholarship, or research." If a user makes a request for, or later uses a photocopy or reproduction for purposes in excess of "fair use," that user is liable for copyright infringement.

Questions? Please contact:

Chuck Walsh
803.786.3878
 

How To Schedule A Library Instruction Session

Just like you, we want your students to be the best that they can be! Scheduling an Information Literacy session for your class can make the difference between a lackluster paper/project and one that is A+ quality!

How could a library Information Literacy session benefit my students? Is it worth giving up an entire class period?

Absolutely! All too often we assume that any student who enters college must be technology-savvy and can therefore handle herself in the college's library. But oftentimes, that is simply not the case. Many students are indeed 'gadget-savvy,' but this does not necessarily mean they are 'information savvy'; they may be able to acquire a great deal of information, but can often make poor choices in the quality of information they gather. That is where we, the library staff, come in! One 50-minute Information Literacy session at the library can reap enormous short-and long-term benefits for your students.

How do I schedule an Information Literacy session?

Contact Brittany Hickey (3570) or stop by the Edens 214C.

If you've never scheduled a session before, here are just a few things to keep in mind:

DO

  • Contact us at least 2 weeks in advance of the time you'd like to bring your class in. The further in advance you contact us, the better. Most instruction takes place in the Overton Classroom (Rm 120), which can get booked pretty quickly.
     
  • Provide us with a copy of the assignment with the objective/goal of the assignment clearly stated and a short description of what sources you want/will allow your students to use. (For example, "You [the student] must use at least five scholarly sources, three of which must come from academic journals and two from books. You may also use the Internet for one additional source." OR "You may not use the Internet.") 
     
  • Provide us with basic information about your class: class size, what year most students are, etc. Even seemingly trivial information, such as "This is a really sharp class; they're really on top of things." Or "This class has been struggling somewhat this semester" can be helpful for us to know. 
     
  • Attend the session 
    Students take note when their instructor is present at an IL session (and when he/she is not), which sends the message of the importance of the session. Plus, we always like to hear contributions from instructors during our IL sessions! 

TRY TO AVOID

  • Last-minute requests 
    Like all CC faculty, we want our lessons to be well prepared, making sure that ACRL guidelines appropriate to the level of instruction for information literacy standards, are followed. 

     
  • Scheduling the IL session too far ahead of or close to the due date of the assignment
    The longer the period of time between instruction of research skills and the execution of those skills, the more students tend to forget. Students can be very shy to ask for help with that which they've already been taught. So having them use those skills while they're still fresh is best. (But not too fresh!) 

     
  • Sending students by individually to receive detailed library instruction
    If you have 2 classes of 20 students each and they're all writing a big research paper that will require detailed library instruction...well...that's 40 individual IL sessions for us! (IF, that is, the students do in fact come by the library. If left to their own devices, they may not.) Better to bring each class in for one IL session. 

     
  • Using a recycled 'canned' "library orientation" assignment, as we find these can be outdated and may not be relevant to the resources at Edens Library. If you do not have an assignment for your students that would specifically bring them into the library, and you'd like your students to do some type of "library orientation" assignment and you don't already have one established, we would be more than happy to work one-on-one with you to custom design such an assignment. 

How to embed an article into your course shell

Get the FAQs on article Permalink embedding!

I have an article in mind that I'd like to make accessible in my course shell for my students to read. How can I do that?

It's entirely possible Edens Library might have full-text access to the article via one of our subscription databases. If we do, a Permalink can easily be created. This link, like any other web url, can then be inserted anywhere in your course shell. The steps at the bottom of this page show you how.


I found this article on a professional organization's website to which I have a paid membership. But my students don't, so they won't be able to access and read it. How can I find out if this same article is accessible in one of our databases so that they can read it?

Easy! You can email a librarian (refdesk@columbiasc.edu) the citation information and we will be happy to check for you. If the article is available full-text, we will be happy to send you the Permalink.


I have several articles I need to do this with and this looks like it could take quite a bit of time. Is there any way a librarian can help with this?

Absolutely! We do this all the time so this is very quick and easy for us. Just email a librarian whatever information you have about each article (so long as we have the journal and article title, volume, issue and page number) and we'll be happy to take care of that for you. If Edens Library has full-text access to any of them, we will send you the Permalinks.


Can't I just download the PDF (or scan the article and make a PDF), and then upload it to my course shell?

Technologically, that is possible. However, we do not recommend this practice as it is not in compliance with copyright law.


Will this Permalink take the student directly to the article? How does it work?

Whether on- or off-campus, the Permalink will take the student to the library's proxy server login page. She will simply log in (username = full CC email address; password = usually "Koala" plus the last 4 digits of the SSN) and click Submit. She will then be taken directly to the full-text of the article.


I've already found the article in one of our databases. I just need to know how to get the Permalink. How do I do that?

Edens Library has access to a variety of subscription databases. The process might vary slightly depending on which database you are using. See below for database-specific instructions.


EBSCO DATABASES (Academic Search Complete, CMMC, ERIC, etc.)
For any databases that bear the EBSCO logo you would follow these steps:

  1. Once you have identified and accessed the full-text article you would like to embed in your course shell, click the Permalink icon. (Far right-hand margin, looks like a chain link.)
  2. The permalink will appear towards the top of the screen; copy that link.
  3. Place the link anywhere you like in your course shell. You can treat it, literally, just like any other web url/link.

And you're done. :-)

What will happen when your students click the link is they will be taken to the library's proxy server login page, where they will log in. Once they do so, they are immediately taken to the article itself.

JSTOR
It's almost as easy as EBSCO; there's just one extra sub-step.

  1. Once you have identified the article you would like to embed in your course shell, copy and paste the Stable URL somewhere, such as a Word file. (The Stable URL should be located under Published by and DOI info.) 
    Make sure the article is, in fact, one to which Columbia College has full-text access.
  2. Now you will need to add the library's "proxy prefix" to the Stable URL. Here's how:

Copy this bit of url: (This is called a "proxy prefix.")

https://columbiacollege.idm.oclc.org/login?url=

and paste it in front of the Stable URL, with no spaces.

In other words, this

http://www.jstor.org/stable/495309 (Stable URL)

becomes this

https://columbiacollege.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://www.jstor.org/stable/495309

      3. Place the 'new' link you have created anywhere you like in your course shell. You can treat it, literally, just like any other web url/link.

And you're done. :-)

What will happen when your students click the link is they will be taken to the library's proxy server login page, where they will log in. Once they do so, they are immediately taken to the article itself.

Proxy prefix: Simply put, a proxy prefix is a 'piece' - for lack of a better word - of url that tells your computer's browser what server to go to. But it doesn't tell it where to go beyond that; that's what the rest of the url - in this case, the Stable URL - will do.


PRO-QUEST DATABASES (ABI/INFORM, New York Times Full-Text)
Very similar to JSTOR.

  1. Once you have identified the article you would like to embed in your course shell, click on Abstract/Details. (Make sure the article is, in fact, one to which Columbia College has full-text access.)
  2. Scroll all the way down and copy and paste the Document URL somewhere, such as a Word file.
  3. Now you will need to add the library's "proxy prefix" to the Document URL. Here's how: 
    Copy this bit of url: (This is called a "proxy prefix.")

https://columbiacollege.idm.oclc.org/login?url=

and paste it in front of the Document URL, with no spaces.

In other words, this

http://search.proquest.com/docview/733013913?accountid=39729 (Document URL)

becomes this

https://columbiacollege.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/docview/733013913?accountid=39729

      4. Place the 'new' link you have created anywhere you like in your course shell. You can treat it, literally, just like any other web url/link.

And you're done. :-)

What will happen when your students click the link is they will be taken to the library's proxy server login page, where they will log in. Once they do so, they are immediately taken to the article itself.

Proxy prefix: Simply put, a proxy prefix is a 'piece' - for lack of a better word - of url that tells your computer's browser what server to go to. But it doesn't tell it where to go beyond that; that's what the rest of the url - in this case, the Document URL - will do. 

Embedding Library Resources/Research Coach Into Your Koala Connection Course Shell

Gone are the days when students are required to go to the library's website to access library resources. By embedding library resources and/or a Library Research Coach into your Koala Connection course shell, we can now be where they are!

How does this help...?

...my students
...me
...the College
...the Librarians


How This Helps Students

  • Provides point-of-entry for library resources and services (books, new books, databases, trial databases)
  • Provides personalized, customized, and seamless instructional support
  • Provides point-of-need instruction
  • Provides more learning opportunities than a typical "one shot" library visit
  • Provides follow-up for library-based information literacy instruction
  • Provides point-of-need opportunity to contact a librarian
  • Librarians can refer students to other campus and community services
  • Establishes relationships with librarians that can continue throughout their academic career


 

How This Helps Faculty 

  • Helps steer students to library resources and services, and can help guide appropriate web use
  • Provides library support and instruction without necessarily providing class time
  • Can take advantage of library research aids prepared for similar classes
  • Provides follow-up instruction for earlier library research instruction
  • Provides point-of-need instruction for students
  • Helps librarians understand course needs better
    -- Can suggest most appropriate resources to students
    -- Can identify resource strengths and needs that library may have
  • Research instruction can support goals and learning outcomes of courses
  • Expands faculty use of Koala Connection
  • Students may pay more attention to library resources and services that are part of the course shell
  • Can embed persistent links to course readings
  • Can provide research instruction for hybrid and online courses 
     

How This Helps The College 

  • Provides more personal support to students
  • Allows for students and librarians to get to know one another better
  • Encourages use of library resources and services that the College purchases
  • Librarians can refer students to other campus services and other community resources
  • Helps maximize use of Koala Connection
  • Incorporates best practice. Many other colleges are adding this to the list of services they provide
  • Uses library staff to support the Mission and initiatives of the College, such as achieving General Education objectives
  • Helps the librarians to better understand the needs of students and faculty
  • Can provide research instruction for hybrid and online courses 


How This Helps The Librarians 

  • Helps the librarians understand course and curriculum needs better
    -- Have access to syllabus and assignments
    -- May read (or participate in or initiate) announcements and threaded discussions, if faculty member chooses
    -- May have opportunities to assess student learning
  • Librarians go to where the students are
  • Librarians get to know students and may develop relationships that continue over time
  • Provides multiple ways to achieve information literacy goals
  • Helps librarians see what new services they should develop
  • Expands the information literacy program, and provides "scaffolding" for information literacy across academic programs 

Levels of Embedding 

Basic
With your permission, we can provide links to the following...

  • the library
  • online reference
  • handouts that the librarian may have supplied to your class in a research instruction class
  • generic instructional resources, such as a handout on evaluating web sites or a library tutorial

Mid Level
This can include course-specific links, such as...

  • persistent links to some course readings
  • helpful/new books
  • best databases
  • database trials
  • tips and discoveries from other librarians, faculty, and students
  • course specific instructional resources and aids
  • follow-up to any research instruction sessions conducted in the library or classroom; point-of-need instruction

Full Service

  • librarian can participate in online course discussions
  • librarian can see/comment on bibliographies and source lists submitted by students
  • there may be possibilities for assessment of information literacy skills
  • other privileges that you allow 


How to Add a Role in Koala Connection 

In order for us to embed resources into your KC course shell, the librarian(s) must first be given the necessary Permissions to do so. This is done by adding a Role into the course shell. This can be accomplished two ways:

  • As the Instructor, you may complete the steps below
  • OR...The librarians will be happy to complete these steps for you 
    However, we would need to meet briefly in order for you to log in to KC and access your course shell. At that point, we will be happy to complete the process, after which time we would make sure to log you out. It has been our experience that this is most conveniently done during a library instruction session.

*Note: It is best to use Internet Explorer or Safari when performing the following operation.

(Rather watch a video? Click here)

  1. Log in to Koala Connection and access your course
  2. Click the CONTEXT MANAGER link (left side, under the listing of pages)
  3. Click PERMISSIONS 
  4. Click the blue ADD A ROLE link (left side). Name this role Research Coach.
  5. Click the blue ADD INDIVIDUAL USERS link (a small box will open)
  6. Search for the librarian(s) you'd like to embed; as you find them, click their name(s), then click the ADD button. When you are done adding users, click OK. This small window will close.
  7. Click SAVE (the window will refresh and you will see the role listed with no permissions boxes checked)
  8. Check-mark the pages you want the Research Coach to be able to edit and click SAVE
    Please check-mark the following 4 boxes:


    - Collaboration: This is also helpful in that we can: 1. email the class should any additional research resources come to light; 2. participate in a forum discussion if you would like us to.
    - Course Information: This can be very helpful, as it will provide the Research Coach with information regarding your course.
    - Main Page: This box must be check-marked, as it grants us the ability to add content to the Research Coach portlet.
    - Syllabus: This is vital, as it provides the Research Coach with helpful assignment-related information, such as assignment description, required type and number of sources and due dates.
    Very rarely would we need full administrative privileges, unless the Librarians were involved in Grading an assignment, in which case either that box could be check-marked, or you could simply check-mark Can Admin. Please note: this would give us administrative access to ALL pages in your course shell. 

     
  9. Scroll to the bottom and click SAVE; scroll to the bottom and click EXIT.
  10. On the Main page towards the top, click Options.
  11. Click Add a new feature to this page.
  12. Select Free-form Content. 
  13. Click Free-form Content to re-name it. Call is "Research Coach" and click Use this name. 
  14. Scroll down to the bottom of the screen and click Back to Main page.
  15. Your newly created Portlet will automatically appear at the bottom of the Main Page. If you want to change its location on the Main Page, click "Rearrange." This will make all Portlets draggable; you can drag-and-drop any Portlet where you want it. 
  16. When you have the Portlet where you want it click Save Changes.
  17. The Research Coach (librarian) will need to be able to edit the Portlet. To allow this, the appropriate Permissions must be set. To do this, click on the name of the Portlet, then click "Access."
  18. Click Research Coach. It will turn green and a box with more options will open up to the right. Under "Research Coach can see this page" will be a list of what the Research Coach can see. Under Research Coach, click "Can Edit Custom Content." A green checkmark will appear. 
  19. Click "Back to Main Page" (upper right of screen)
  20. Copy the URL in the address bar and email that URL to the Librarian/Research Coach. (They'll know what to do with it.)

If you would like the Research Coach to be embedded in multiple classes/sections, this process will need to be repeated for each one.

Are you copying a previous course shell in which a Research Coach was embedded? Follow these steps:

  1. Log in to Koala Connection and access your course
  2. Click the CONTEXT MANAGER link (left side, under the listing of pages)
  3. Click PERMISSIONS 
  4. Click the pencil icon next to the Research Coach role. 
  5. Click the blue ADD INDIVIDUAL USERS link (a small box will open) 
  6. Search for the librarians; as you find them, click their name(s), then click the ADD button. When you are done adding users, click OK. This small window will close. (Note: If you have NOT yet scheduled a Library Instruction session, you may want to select all 3 of us; if you have scheduled a session and know who will be teaching it, you may select that individual librarian.)
  7. Click SAVE (the window will refresh and you will see the role listed with no permissions boxes checked)
  8. Check-mark the pages you want the Research Coach to be able to edit and click SAVE. 
    Please check-mark the following 4 boxes:

    - Collaboration: This is also helpful in that we can: 1. email the class should any additional research resources come to light; 2. participate in a forum discussion if you would like us to.
    - Course Information: This can be very helpful, as it will provide the Research Coach with information regarding your course.
    - Main Page: This box must be check-marked, as it grants us the ability to add content to the Research Coach portlet.
    - Syllabus: This is vital, as it provides the Research Coach with helpful assignment-related information, such as assignment description, required type and number of sources and due dates.
    Very rarely would we need full administrative privileges, unless the Librarians were involved in Grading an assignment, in which case either that box could be check-marked, or you could simply check-mark Can Admin. Please note: this would give us administrative access to ALL pages in your course shell. 

     
  9. Scroll to the bottom and click EXIT.
  10. Copy the URL in the address bar and email that URL to the Research Coach. (They'll know what to do with it.)

If you get an error message that says: Name can contain letters, digits, spaces, single quote, brackets and signs - and |. Each open bracket should have a corresponding close bracket, then click on theProperties tab and remove special characters like the & sign. Then click on Save Changes, and go back to the step in your instructions and try again.

Please feel free to call us with any questions. You may contact a librarian at 803-786-3703 or the IT department at 803-786-3007.

What resources should my students be using?

It really depends on the course and the nature of the assignment, but the "short and sweet" answer is below, followed by more detailed information.

Reference Sources

Available in both print and online

It's often a good idea for students to start out with a Reference source, as these can provide valuable background information on a particular topic. The reference librarians can refer your students to highly specialized encyclopedias located in the stacks that deal with their topic (as opposed to 'general' encyclopedias, such as World Book or Britannica) as well as online References sources, such as Credo Reference.

Library Catalog

Students should also be searching the library Catalog to find other books and materials related to their topic.


Research Guides (LibGuides)

Edens Library has over two-dozen Research Guides (called LibGuides) that are custom-designed for particular assignments. Click on the Research Guides tab to see if one exists that fits your and your students' needs. Don't see one? Contact us and we can custom design one for your course or assignment.

 

Online Databases

Searching online databases is a great way for your students to find scholarly journal articles, as well as magazine, newspaper and encyclopedia articles. By far, one of our most popular and useful databases is Academic Search Complete.

* Please keep in mind that Online Databases provide far more full-text access to articles than the library is able to purchase in print format. Hence, as information delivery systems evolve and technological demands increase, many articles are now only available electronically through the databases.


WWW Resources

It's a wild and woolly Web out there! How can your students tame it? Encourage them to check out our tips for evaluating World Wide Web resources!

Evaluating WWW Resources


People & Services
The most important part of what we do! 

Reference Librarians

Some students tend to be shy when it comes to asking for help. So it never hurts to encourage them to seek one-on-one assistance from a Reference Librarian. During the regular semester, the library is open 84 hours per week and a Reference Librarian is on duty much of that time. (See Library Hours). Your students can also call us at 803-786-3703.

Pearce Communication Center (PCC)

Concerned about your students' writing skills? The Pearce Communication Center is here to help!

Located in the library on the Lower Level in Room 119, the friendly folks at the PCC are ready and willing to help your students! Getting help is easy and convenient. Students can either check the PCC schedule or set an appointment online. 

 


If I'm not able to bring my class in, is there a way I can have a research guide designed for my class and their assignment?

Absolutely! While it's always a good idea to bring your class in for an instruction session, we also know that sometimes it's just not going to be possible. We are more than happy to collaborate with you in order to design an assignment-specific research guide that you and your students will find helpful. Just email us or stop by!

Suggest a purchase

Want to make a purchase suggestion to Edens Library? Send an email to refdesk@columbiasc.edu including as much of the following information as you can.

  • Title
  • Author/Director/Creator
  • Publisher/Producer
  • ISBN/ISSN
  • Where you originally learned of the item

THANK YOU! We look forward to hearing from you. 

Choice Reviews Online (CRO)

CRO is an excellent finding and discovery tool for connecting with recommended titles in your academic area of interest!

Click the link below to be taken to the CRO database. (On-Campus access only)