Skip to main content

J. Drake Edens Library: Embed an article into your course shell

J. Drake Edens Library

How to embed an article into your course shell

Get the FAQs on article Permalink embedding!

I have an article in mind that I'd like to make accessible in my course shell for my students to read. How can I do that?

It's entirely possible Edens Library might have full-text access to the article via one of our subscription databases. If we do, a Permalink can easily be created. This link, like any other web url, can then be inserted anywhere in your course shell. The steps at the bottom of this page show you how.


I found this article on a professional organization's website to which I have a paid membership. But my students don't, so they won't be able to access and read it. How can I find out if this same article is accessible in one of our databases so that they can read it?

Easy! You can do one of two things: either follow the steps below, or email a librarian (refdesk@columbiasc.edu) the citation information and we will be happy to check for you. If the article is available full-text, we will be happy to send you the Permalink.

If you'd like to check yourself, here's how:

  1. From the library's homepage (Home tab), you'll see the "Search for a Journal Title" box.
    Or click here.
  2. Enter the title of the journal (not the article) 
  3. If we have access to it, the journal's title will appear, along with the name of the database which carries it.
  4. Click on the database name/title, which should be hyperlinked.
  5. Whether on- or off-campus, you will most likely be taken to the library's proxy server login page. Log in and you will be taken into that particular database's publication details page.

From there, the steps you would follow to find your article will differ from database to database. If you have any trouble from that point on, feel free to contact a librarian.


I have several articles I need to do this with and this looks like it could take quite a bit of time. Is there any way a librarian can help with this?

Absolutely! We do this all the time so this is very quick and easy for us. Just email a librarian whatever information you have about each article (so long as we have the journal and article title, volume, issue and page number) and we'll be happy to take care of that for you. If Edens Library has full-text access to any of them, we will send you the Permalinks.


Can't I just download the PDF (or scan the article and make a PDF), and then upload it to my course shell?

Technologically, that is possible. However, we do not recommend this practice as it is not in compliance with copyright law.


Will this Permalink take the student directly to the article? How does it work?

Whether on- or off-campus, the Permalink will take the student to the library's proxy server login page. She will simply log in (username = full CC email address; password = usually "Koala" plus the last 4 digits of the SSN) and click Submit. She will then be taken directly to the full-text of the article.


I've already found the article in one of our databases. I just need to know how to get the Permalink. How do I do that?

Edens Library has access to a variety of subscription databases. The process might vary slightly depending on which database you are using. See below for database-specific instructions.


EBSCO DATABASES (Academic Search Complete, CMMC, ERIC, etc.)
For any databases that bear the EBSCO logo you would follow these steps:

  1. Once you have identified and accessed the full-text article you would like to embed in your course shell, click the Permalink icon. (Far right-hand margin, looks like a chain link.)
  2. The permalink will appear towards the top of the screen; copy that link.
  3. Place the link anywhere you like in your course shell. You can treat it, literally, just like any other web url/link.

And you're done. :-)

What will happen when your students click the link is they will be taken to the library's proxy server login page, where they will log in. Once they do so, they are immediately taken to the article itself.

JSTOR
It's almost as easy as EBSCO; there's just one extra sub-step.

  1. Once you have identified the article you would like to embed in your course shell, copy and paste the Stable URL somewhere, such as a Word file. (The Stable URL should be located under Published by and DOI info.) 
    Make sure the article is, in fact, one to which Columbia College has full-text access.
  2. Now you will need to add the library's "proxy prefix" to the Stable URL. Here's how:

Copy this bit of url: (This is called a "proxy prefix.")

https://columbiacollege.idm.oclc.org/login?url=

and paste it in front of the Stable URL, with no spaces.

In other words, this

http://www.jstor.org/stable/495309 (Stable URL)

becomes this

https://columbiacollege.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://www.jstor.org/stable/495309

      3. Place the 'new' link you have created anywhere you like in your course shell. You can treat it, literally, just like any other web url/link.

And you're done. :-)

What will happen when your students click the link is they will be taken to the library's proxy server login page, where they will log in. Once they do so, they are immediately taken to the article itself.

Proxy prefix: Simply put, a proxy prefix is a 'piece' - for lack of a better word - of url that tells your computer's browser what server to go to. But it doesn't tell it where to go beyond that; that's what the rest of the url - in this case, the Stable URL - will do.


PRO-QUEST DATABASES (ABI/INFORM, New York Times Full-Text)
Very similar to JSTOR.

  1. Once you have identified the article you would like to embed in your course shell, click on Abstract/Details. (Make sure the article is, in fact, one to which Columbia College has full-text access.)
  2. Scroll all the way down and copy and paste the Document URL somewhere, such as a Word file.
  3. Now you will need to add the library's "proxy prefix" to the Document URL. Here's how: 
    Copy this bit of url: (This is called a "proxy prefix.")

https://columbiacollege.idm.oclc.org/login?url=

and paste it in front of the Document URL, with no spaces.

In other words, this

http://search.proquest.com/docview/733013913?accountid=39729 (Document URL)

becomes this

https://columbiacollege.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/docview/733013913?accountid=39729

      4. Place the 'new' link you have created anywhere you like in your course shell. You can treat it, literally, just like any other web url/link.

And you're done. :-)

What will happen when your students click the link is they will be taken to the library's proxy server login page, where they will log in. Once they do so, they are immediately taken to the article itself.

Proxy prefix: Simply put, a proxy prefix is a 'piece' - for lack of a better word - of url that tells your computer's browser what server to go to. But it doesn't tell it where to go beyond that; that's what the rest of the url - in this case, the Document URL - will do.