Skip to main content

Research Starter Guide: How do I find information?

Finding Different Information Sources

You can search the library's catalog for books, DVDs, and CDs. Enter one or two keywords into the search box below or on the library's homepage. General collection books are located on the top floor of the library. Reference books are located on the main level and cannot be checked out. If you have any questions or can't find what you're looking for, please see a librarian for help.

Quick Search

 

Or
Advanced Search

A little unsure how to find your book(s) on the shelves? 
Watch How To Find Your Book On The Shelves for a quick refresher!

Use the two databases below to gain access to thousands of full-text ebooks. Simply enter your keywords in the search box.

Journal articles can be found in library databases. Most databases are focused on a particular subject area (business, psychology, etc.), but some cover multiple subject areas. The database Academic Search Complete is typically a good place to begin research because it includes articles on a wide array of topics.
 

To view the full list of databases the library subscribes to, including trial access, click on the link below.

Go to A-Z List

 

When accessing our databases, you will be prompted to log in. Enter your Username and Password. 

Username: Your username is your full CC email address, which should be your firstname.lastname@my.columbiasc.edu.
Password: Unless you have changed it, your password should be Koala (with a capital "K"), plus the last 4 digits of your SSN. 

Example
Username: jane
.doe@my.columbiasc.edu 
Password: Koala1234

** Please Note: If you are refused the first time, please log in a second time. (Sometimes it takes the system time to recognize you.)

Magazines and newspapers can be found in many of the same databases as journal articles, such as Academic Search Complete. When you search, look for "Source Types" on the left hand side. Check the box next to the type of material that you want. This will limit your results to only that type of publication.

If you are looking exclusively for newspapers, then try one of these databases:

Loading ...

Search Tips

Are you getting too many results? Use AND to narrow your search. This will return any results that contain both words or phrases.

Ex. South Carolina AND history

 

Not getting enough results? Try OR to broaden your search. This will return any results that have either word or phrase.

Ex. Climate Change OR global warming

 

Do you have a lot of results with non-relevant information? Try using NOT to eliminate certain words from your results.

Ex. Pets NOT cats

 

An asterisk (*) can be used to search for multiple word endings.

Ex. knitreturns results for knit, knits, knitter, knitters, knitting

 

A question mark (?) can be used as a wildcard.

Ex. wom?n returns results for woman or women

 

Quotation marks (" ") can be used to search for an exact phrase.

Ex. "climate change"