Columbia College has access to several specialized research databases that contain thousands of high-quality articles relevant to your topic that are not available on the Internet. Your instructors will be highly impressed if you use these valuable resources.
Types of articles include:
Keep scrolling for more information on how to access these articles.
Any, or all of these, would be a great start.
Other databases to try: http://libguides.columbiasc.edu/az.php?s=56325
When accessing our databases, you will be prompted to log in. Enter your Username and Password.
Username: Your username is your full CC email address, which should be your firstname.lastname@example.org.
Password: Unless you have changed it, your password should be Koala (with a capital "K"), plus the last 4 digits of your SSN.
** Please Note: If you are refused the first time, please log in a second time. (Sometimes it takes the system time to recognize you.)
Having trouble? Click the Contact Us tab on this guide.
Q. In order to pull up the most relevant, helpful articles, what should I type in the search box once I'm inside the database?
A. Try one or more of these search phrases to get you started. But feel free to come up with your own terms.
Q. How can I make sure that the articles that come up in the Results list are the full article, and not just an abstract?
A. Make sure that the Full-Text box is check-marked.
The best way to find scholarly journal articles is by searching our online Databases.
Once inside the database:
Feel free to experiment by using helpful search features, such as Date Span or Full-Text only!
Although check-marking the Scholarly/Peer-Reviewed selection box will greatly increase your chances of finding such articles, we also strongly suggest you evaluate the article as well; your professors will appreciate it if you do! Typically, "scholarly journal articles" tend to have the following characteristics:
Need advice? Just call or email a librarian. We're always happy to help!
Reference Desk: 803.786.3703